RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Can I Manage? and Kolbe Graduates in Engineering

Reply to topic    Kolbe Academy Forum Index » Parent Interaction View previous topic
View next topic

Can I Manage? and Kolbe Graduates in Engineering
gmgraham

Post Can I Manage? and Kolbe Graduates in Engineering Reply with quote
We have been homeschooling for 8 years now and our oldest is starting 8th grade next year. I am starting to get worried about high school, especially history and literature. I am homeschooling our oldest 4 and have a toddler and baby as well. My degree is in engineering, so the math and science do not worry me. The large amounts of reading for history and literature do worry me.

My oldest loves history, but he prefers more modern history topics rather than ancients. We definitely want our kids to have a challenging college prep education in high school, but I am wondering the pros/cons of the two history approached in high school. He enjoys reading, but is dyslexic and writing is not one of his strong points. He would like to pursue Science/Math as his more challenging/Honors subjects and has an interest in engineering.

Any thoughts from others who have been in this situation? Can I really cover the material well if I haven't read the materials myself? I don't feel I can keep up with all of the reading he will need to be doing.

Also, I was interested to hear from other parents regarding children that graduated from Kolbe and went on to study Engineering. What did you/your student feel was most important regarding their high school studies?
Thu May 10, 2012 8:00 am View user's profile Send private message
introibo

Post Reply with quote